2009 Excellence.Gov Awards finalists announced

ACT-IAC has just announced the finalists for this year’s Excellence.Gov Awards, the theme of which is “Transparency: Using IT to improve the interaction between Government and its Stakeholders.” A list of the finalists is below, in alphabetical order. The top 5 finalists will be announced at an awards lunch on April 14 at the J.W. Marriott in Washington, DC. 

Everyone at TCG is delighted to see on the list two programs that we support! (Disclosure: I was a judge on this year’s program. I recused myself from voting on those programs that TCG supports.) Competition among the 60 nominations this year was tough, so the judges’ recognition of NITRC and BFELoB is really tremendous. Congratulations to all the finalists and, in particular, to our colleagues at NIH and OMB/Education!

Also of note for our readers with an interest in grants management is the recognition of Research.gov. Congratulations to the NSF!

Anyone can attend the award lunch by registering at the ACT-IAC web site. (Scroll down to the Upcoming Events box, and click through to the list of upcoming events.) Registration fees are $85 for IAC members, $50 for government individuals, and $110 for non-IAC members.

1. AIDS.gov, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services/Office of HIV/AIDS Policy;

2. Budget Formulation and Execution Line of Business (BFELoB), Department of Education, Managing Partner Office of Management and Budget, Policy Lead;

3. Doing Business with the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Using the Electronic Information Exchange (EIE), Office of Information Services;

4. e‑Government Portal & Master Data Management, National Labor Relations Board (NLRB);

5. Enterprise Human Resources Integration (EHRI), Office of Personnel Management Human Resources Line of Business;

6. ESnet4, the Energy Sciences Network 4th Generation, U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science, Office of Advanced Scientific Computing Research;

7. Facility Registry System (FRS), United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), Office of Environmental Information (OEI);

8. Federal Trade Commission Consumer Response System & Services (FTC CRSS) Program, Federal Trade Commission Bureau of Consumer Protection (FTC BCP);

9. Global Combat Support Systems–Air Force (GCSS-AF), United States Air Force (USAF)/Air Force Material Command (AFMC)/Electronic Systems Command (ESC)/554th Electronic Systems Wing (554 ELSW)/HQ 754th Electronic Systems Group (754 ELSG);

10. Global Legal Information Network (GLIN), The Library of Congress, Law Library of Congress (LLOC);

11. GovPay, Department of the Interior, National Business Center, Acquisition Services Directorate (AQD);

12. GSA Infrastructure Technology Global Operations (GITGO), GSA Office of the Chief Information Officer;

13. Integrated Acquisition Environment (IAE), General Services Administration (GSA) / Office of the Chief Acquisition Officer, Office of Acquisition Systems;

14. MSC.gov, Media Services Center (MSC) of the National Reconnaissance Office (NRO);

15. Neuroimaging Informatics Tools and Resources Clearinghouse (NITRC), NIH Institutes; 16. Ready Retirement, Social Security Administration (SSA);

17. Research.gov, National Science Foundation;

18. Transportation Coordinators’ – Automated Information for Movements System II (TC-AIMS II) Theater Operations (TOPS), US Army Program Executive Office (PEO) Enterprise Information Systems (PEO EIS);

19. USASearch, the U.S. Government’s Official Web Search Engine, GSA Office of Citizen Services, U.S. General Services Administration;

20. Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative (WHTI): Passport Card and Border Crossing Card (BCC), Department of State/Consular Affairs (DOS/CA);

21. www.travel.state.gov, Department of State/Consular Affairs/Consular Systems and Technology (CA/CST)

If you are interested in becoming a sponsor for the awards, please contact Charlene Nieman at 703–208-4800 x 205 or via email at cnieman@actgov.org.

One response to “2009 Excellence.Gov Awards finalists announced

Comments are closed.